Uncategorized

Printing and Print Exchange 8!

This month has been a busy one, working on some artwork, going to galleries, and preparing some works to send off to show. I also participated in a photography portfolio review and networking event at the Hairpin Arts Center in Logan Square/Avondale earlier in the month and saw some great work and met some great artists. I just took my artwork up north to Deerfield area to show it in an art show titled Genius Loci that will be at Brushwoods House in the Ryerson Woods area. The show will have 15 of my Untitled Abstractions drawings and 5 of my forest photos, as well as some ceramic trees that will be interspersed with the natural history dioramas in the house. I’ll post pictures after the reception, which takes place Sunday, July 8 from 1-4pm at Brushwoods House. It’s a short trip up 94 from Chicago and a beautiful place!

I also had the opportunity to do some printmaking recently in preparation for the Print Zero Studios Print Exchange 8. My print, balancing act 1, is a drypoint on zinc printed with red ink, hand colored. I collaged a xerox transfer of a figure on top, and some text on the blocks. This one was made in an edition of 15 for the print exchange, but I hope to do a series of similar pieces in small editions to accompany it. Here are some pics I took of me printing, and the finished piece complete with the hand coloring, collage, and xerox transfer.

Also am preparing work for two upcoming shows, one for the Milwaukee Avenue Arts Festival here in Logan Square, which will be a remake of a few sculptures of my past for the Stop, Look, Listen exhibit, and several new accordion books for the Drawn and Quarto show at Abecedarian Gallery in Colorado this fall. I’m going to start those today!

I’m off to make art… Thanks for reading!

20120701-121201.jpg

20120701-121327.jpg

20120701-121338.jpg

20120701-121345.jpg

Leave a Reply

