Uncategorized

Time flies!

Wow, it’s been over two months since I last posted… I apologize for my delay! As some of you might know, I got married during that time, so although it was a wonderful event and we had a great time, of course my artwork didn’t have as much time to be developed. However, I have been working on it currently, and have started some more small series of drawings that I will be working on today and this coming week. I will also be working on the large silhouette drawings (four new ones) that have been sitting rolled up behind my closet doors for months and that I have been putting off since they take so much time to work on. But no more! Once these small drawings are complete, I will be cleaning off the desk and spreading them out to be completed. They take a great deal of time, but I hope to finish all four by the holidays completion.

I have also been applying to a lot of shows. One of the things I have been working on is a three-dimensional representation of my balance series, which if you remember, contains many colored blocks/bricks that are symbols for all the little things we have to process in a day. So I am in the middle of cutting out, folding, and gluing many paper blocks to represent this idea in space. These will be photographed, and then will be formed into installations that bring the ideas in my drawings to life. I’m very excited about this and can’t wait to show pictures!

I just mailed off some of my smaller balance drawings to the Alfa Gallery in New Brunswick, New Jersey for their small works show. I mailed off ten of the drawings, and this is the first time I have been able to show this series outside of a couple I had in my comprehensive show Drawn and Quarto at Abecedarian Gallery in Denver (which, unfortunately, just closed). I’m excited to show this new series of artworks! Here’s a few images from it to whet your appetite.

I am also putting out my Artist Trading Cards call again with a deadline of February 1st, 2013 for new submissions. Anyone who submits 9 small, baseball-card sized cards will received 9 different cards in return. It’s a great way to get new art contacts, as well as collect small pieces of artwork by other artists. Participate! Here’s the information: https://jenniferhinesart.wordpress.com/artist-trading-cards/

Also stay tuned for a portable gallery called “back room projects presents”… still in the works, but soon…..

Have a great holiday season, and thanks for staying tuned!

Leave a Reply

