Uncategorized

News, and new Artist Trading Card Exchange!

Hello everyone! It’s been a few months since I last posted, but I’ve been busy buying a house and moving in, and now unpacking and decorating! It’s been a whirlwind, but it’s all coming together. The only thing I have yet to do is set up my studio! Unfortunately, our basement had some flooding during the big storm and flooding that Chicago saw in mid-April, so currently the basement, where my studio will be set up, needs a new floor. So some of my art and setup will be delayed due to weather. Hopefully this summer I’ll get it set up and functional, since I’m very excited to spread out and create!

I also wanted to announce a new Artist Trading Cards exchange! More info can be found here: http://www.jenniferhines.net/Artist-Trading-Cards.html. The exchange will run just like the last one, but the mailing address will be different and there is more information about the envelope size and the postage amount to ensure everyone gets their cards back in the mail without postage due. I hope you will all participate! The new deadline will be extended to July 15, 2013, so get your creative juices flowing and get going! Looking forward to seeing what everyone submits!

I have also been included in a series of art exhibits and performances called “The Feedback Series” that combine the artwork of three artists, myself included, and some improv actors, and make a one-night-only art and acting event. The last event was held in early May and was a great success! The audience got to respond to the artwork, and those responses became part of the show. The actors also responded to some of the artworks and created improvised pieces based on the artwork, and there were featured cocktails all named after artworks as well! It was a great event, and a second one will be held later in the summer. The second event will build off of the first event, so a feedback loop will be created and new artwork and experiences based on the previous ones will be made. I’m very excited to be included in this fun event series! More information can be found here: https://www.facebook.com/TheFeedbackSeries

In other news, I plan to have a printmaking filled summer, and will be attempting to use a lot of my printmaking supplies that have been languishing in my drawer. That’ll keep me creating while I work on setting up my studio. More on that to come….

Leave a Reply

