Uncategorized

Would You Like to Join My Crew?

This typography piece is based on a quote from The Life Aquatic, where Steve Zissou invites his son Ned to join his crew. This drawing was actually the first typography piece I created, and originally I had done it as a stand-alone drawing, not really planning to scan it into the computer and colorize it. So when I decided I would like to bring it into the digital realm, it was much more difficult because I hadn’t planned it out when drawing it and many of the lines and shapes didn’t transfer to digital well without additional editing. So this one took me a long time.

The original ink drawing is actually pretty polished in black and white, but I was able to make it much more rich and complex by adding color and textures on the computer.

WouldYouLikeToJoinMyCrew-scan

After scanning in the drawing, I brought the image into Illustrator, vectorized it, and added color.

Print

Then I brought the vector image into Photoshop, created some textures using crayons and ink, scanned them in, and combined them all into the finished piece.

crayon-texture1pencil-texture1

Here is the finished piece with the colors and textures added… feel free to click on it to zoom in!

WouldYouLikeToJoinMyCrew-final-150RBG

Leave a Reply

