Uncategorized

And They Lived Happily Ever After typography work

This drawing was something I actually did over the summer, but am just getting to posting now. I made it in the spirit of two of my favorite people, who were getting married. I spend a lot of time on the layout, and finally decided on a wreath-like border as shown in my final sketch below. I scanned this into the computer and brought it into Illustrator for coloring.

AndTheyLivedHappilyEverAfter

Here is the final vector image, with color added. I had a hard time with colors on this one, but ended up settling on the colors that my friends chose for their wedding. Originally I wasn’t planning on having it so closely linked to their wedding–that was just the inspiration. But after being very indecisive on the coloring and not liking any of the combinations I had tried, I realized the answer was staring me in the face with three colors I already knew looked nice together: lemon yellow, tangerine, and turquoise/light teal.

Print

I made some pencil and crayon textures to add to the finished piece, one of which is shown here:

IMG_012

And then I brought it all into Photoshop. Here I was able to make the lettering, textures, and colors more complex. I also added a background. I ended up liking the finished piece so much that I printed it and sent it to my friends as part of their wedding gift, since it was inspired by them.  Please click on the image to see an enlarged view.

AndTheyLivedHappilyEverAfter-final

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

