art · typography · Uncategorized

Inktober 2016 drawing challenge spurred on some fun ideas

The month of October is 31 days, and for all 31 of them, an artist/designer named Jake Parker suggested an “Inktober” challenge–to draw an ink drawing each day or throughout the month of October and post them on Instagram. To date the hashtag #inktober has over 3 million posts! The rules were pretty loose, but he provided word prompts to help get the creative juices flowing. I decided this would be a fun way to force out some new ideas and use some new Micron pens I had, so I was in!

inktober2016prompts

Inktober prompts, courtesy of Jake Parker.

It was a busy month and I went on vacation for a chunk of it, but I did do one drawing per day–some were more involved than others. A few I finished early or posted late. At first I started with just illustrating the prompt word, but then as I got going, I decided to start using the word as inspiration for a cute lettering and illustration combination–some of which may find their way onto some cards for my Paper Heart Dispatch Etsy shop (we’ll see!). Some were successes and some failures, but I’m pretty happy with the project and had a good time participating.

Here are about half of my output for the month (click on an image to enlarge):

Looking forward to #Inktober2017!

Leave a Reply

