art · design · graphic design · illustration · typography · Uncategorized

April Sea Creatures Brush Calligraphy

I’m still doing @randomolive’s Instagram Brush Letter Practice Challenge to keep up on my lettering skills–it’s a quick and easy way to practice. For the month of April, her theme was sea creatures, so I couldn’t resist adding little illustrated puns on all of them… for the entire month, each calligraphy word was paired with a small black ink drawing of the creature with a speech bubble completing the pun… Have a looksie!

This was super fun, and I’m glad I had the time to think out of the box on this one. By the way, if you are ever in the market for puns, I found A LOT in Punpedia, so I wholeheartedly recommend: http://punpedia.org/

Continue to follow my progress on my Instagram account (@abctypography)–this month I’m combining fruit words with the positive words from the Happy Lettering Challenge, so it’s a fun mixing of adjectives and fruit… great for possible cocktail names!

Leave a Reply

